Joel Dinsdale is back for 2011 and ready to roll
Wilson Todd makes the step up to the 125cc class and is a man on a mission in 2011

Yamaha To Partner Revamped QLD Motocross Series

22 Mar 2011

Yamaha Queensland has become the official motorcycle sponsor of the 2011 Shell Advance Sunshine State Series.

Australia’s longest running and most popular motocross series racks up its 22nd year in 2011 and with new series organizers, it is set for a host of changes that will see the eight round, South-East Queensland based series restored back to its high profile best and Yamaha are excited to be on board.

“The Sunshine State Series is without doubt the best regional series in Australia, attracting upwards of 500 riders per round and a proven breeding ground for future champions, “says Yamaha Sam Fischmann. “With the changes to the program and some of the initiatives the series organizers are undertaking, 2011 will be a landmark year for riders in Queensland.”

“The Sunshine State Series is the perfect event for Yamaha to show case our YZ range of bikes, including everything from the YZ85cc for the young kids to the powerhouse and all conquering YZ450F.”

“Yamaha Motor Australia is proud to be a part of a motocross series that has such a long and distinguished history and look forward to many years of working together with Motorcycling Queensland and the series organizers,” Fischmann ends.

Over the past 21 years, the Sunshine State Motocross Series was the breeding ground of champions. Riders like Michael Byrne and Andrew MacFarlane who had international success through to the local legends like Troy Carroll and Daniel Reardon all spent their formative years competing in the Sunshine State Series.

Yamaha will also have their supported riders in attendance at each round, with Queensland Yamaha Junior Racing’s Joel Dinsdale and Wilson Todd leading the charge in the junior ranks, while Luke Weaver, Sam Duncanson and Joe Hobson are expected to do well in the senior classes. Riders from the Yamaha national motocross teams of Serco Yoshimura Yamaha and GYTR Rockstar Yamaha will also be competing at selected events.

The series is an eight round championship with all rounds hosted within four hours of Brisbane. A large cross-section of tracks are used, from the sand of Hervey Bay to the clay of Toowoomba. Riders of all age and skill are catered for with a big break down of classes and every rider gets value for money at a Sunshine State Series event.

2011 SSMX Event Calendar
Rd 1.March 26/27– Warwick
Rd 2.April 16/ 17- Tivoli
Rd 3. April 30/ May 1 – Coolum
Rd 4. May 14/15– Hervey Bay
Rd 5. June 4/5 – Kingaroy
Rd 6. July 16/ 17 – Bundaberg
Rd 7. August 6/7 – Toowoomba
Rd 8.September - 10/11– Pimpama. 
For more information on the 2011 Sunshine State Series;

For more information on Yamaha Motorcycles;

Related Racing Teams: 
'Apply for Finance Online Apply for Finance Online