Cru Halliday started the season with a win in the Formula Oz class
Mike Jones went bar to bar with Kevin Curtain in the FX600cc

Debut Win for Yamaha Racing with Yamalube

19 Mar 2012

The Yamaha Racing with Yamalube racing team had a near perfect race debut at round one of the Australian FX Superbike Championship as the series got under way at Eastern Creek Raceway over the weekend.

Newly signed riders, Cru Halliday and Mike Jones, got the team off to a great start with Halliday dominating proceedings in the Formula OZ class on board his Yamaha R1, while Jones went tyre to tyre with Kevin Curtain in the 600cc category taking second place after three race long duals all the way to the checkered flag.

It was a methodical and relentless showing from Cru Halliday in the Formula OZ class taking three race wins from three starts in another strong performance. Halliday had things under control from the get go of each race and simply out rode his rivals on route to another victory on the factory R1.

Mike Jones had Kevin Curtain to contend with in the 600cc class and the wily veteran is never easy to beat. Jones managed to snare the opening leg win, just a few tenths clear of Curtain, but that result was reversed in race two and the pair were headed for a show down in the third and final leg.  Curtain just got the better of Jones in an enthralling race and won the round ahead of Jones. The racing between the pair was spirited and it appears a formality the duo will lock bars for the remainder of the 2012 season.

“We formed this team with a view to assisting more riders and guiding them further in their racing careers,” says team director John Redding. “Both riders did a tremendous job today and from a managers point of view the team gelled well and had good chemistry which is a vital ingredient in racing.”

“It was a credit to all involved with YRT for our success this weekend and we hope this kick starts another strong season for the teams and the riders.”

The next round of the Australian FX Superbike Championships takes place at Wakefield Park on April 21- 22.

For a full list of results:

Australian FX Superbike Championships
Round 1 results – Eastern Creek

Formula OZ
1st Cru Halliday – 75points (Yamaha)
2nd Daniel Stauffer –66points (BMW)
3rd Mitchell Carr – 58points (Triumph)
4th Chas Hern –  56points (Suzuki)
5th Phil Lovett – 48points (Kawasaki)

1st Kevin Curtain  - 72points (Yamaha)
2nd Mike Jones – 69points (Yamaha)
3rd Sean Condon – 60points (Yamaha)
4th Adrian Di Giandomenico- 54 points (Yamaha)
5th Michael Lockhart – 48points – (Kawasaki)

Keith Muir
Related Racing Teams: 
'Apply for Finance Online Apply for Finance Online