Mike Jones on the charge and on his way to a clean sweep at Darwin
Cru Halliday continues to impress with his racing in the Pro Stock divison

Jones and Halliday Dominate Stock Classes at Darwin ASBK

18 Apr 2011

Yamaha’s Mike Jones and Cru Halliday turned a wheel perfect day winning their respective classes at the Darwin round of the Australian Super-Bike Championship held at the weekend.

Competing in the blistering heat of the ‘Top End’ the weather wasn’t the only thing that was hot as the form of Jones and Halliday really turned up the blow torch on their main rivals.

Jones, competing in the 600cc Superstock division, took the maximum 75 points on offer winning all three legs on Sunday and also gained an extra point for earning pole position. On board his Yamaha R6 race bike, Jones was simply unstoppable and leaves Darwin with a commanding lead in the championship.

The only rider to keep Jones in sight at the Hidden Valley Circuit was fellow Yamaha rider, Daniel Falzon (Yamaha Pitmans).

The story was much the same for Cru Halliday only it was on the thundering Yamaha R1 in the 1000cc Pro Stock class. Like Jones, Halliday won all three races and took the pole position point as well to kick well clear in the championship chase with only a couple of rounds remaining.

“Both riders had an exception round,” comments Yamaha Racing Team Manager, John Redding. “They seem to both be a cut above the riders in their classes, yet challenge themselves to go faster as they look towards a future as professional riders.”

“Not only are the guys going great guns on the track, but the fact that both the Superstock 600cc and the Pro Stock 1000cc are governed by production based rules means the Yamaha R1 and R6 are extremely competitive race bikes and a great platform for road racing.”

“On behalf of Yamaha, I congratulate both riders and look forward to seeing them in action at the upcoming rounds,” Redding ends.

For a full list of results; www.computime.com.au

Pro Stock – 1000cc

1st Cru Halliday – 76 (Yamaha)
2nd John Ross – 53
3rd Scott Yates – 49

Superstock – 600cc
1st Mike Jones – 76 (Yamaha)
2nd Daniel Falzon – 57 (Yamaha)
3rd Mark Wilkinson – 51

Championship Standings- After Darwin Round
Pro Stock- 1000cc

1st Cru Halliday – 152
2nd Matthew Walters -96
3rd Linden Magee – 95

Superstock – 600cc
1st Mike Jones – 203
2nd Mark Wilkinson – 144
3rd Daniel Falzon - 136

Keith Muir
Related Racing Teams: 
'Apply for Finance Online Apply for Finance Online