Marmont holds onto his number two plate for another season after finishing second overall in the 2010 Super X Championship

Marmont Nails Second in Super X Championship

5 Dec 2010

CDR Rockstar Yamaha’s Jay Marmont locked down second place in the championship after a rain soaked mud bath at the seventh and final round of the 2010 Monster Energy Super X Championship held at Brisbane’s QSAC Stadium on Saturday Night.

Marmont entered the final round with a handy points buffer over third place in the Pro Open class and only needed an intelligent nights’ racing to bring home the runner up position and be the first Australian rider in the overall standings.

Contesting the Triple Challenge format with a huge 75points available, the championship win was still up for grabs, although unlikely, as the points leader US Import Josh Hansen, had plenty of points up his sleeve. For Marmont it was all about consolidating his second place in what were extremely treacherous conditions.

Marmont finished the night with 2-6-4 moto scores for fourth overall, after slogging it out in the deep, sticky mud that made just circulating the track an achievement.

Throughout the seven round championship, Marmont never finished any round outside the top five at any round and cemented his position as Australia’s most consistent racer.

“It was tough out there tonight and trying to race was almost out of the question with the track the way it was. My whole plan was to keep the bike on two wheels and stay away from all the water and mud that can cause a mechanical problem. It wasn’t pretty but we did exactly what we needed to do,” Marmont says with mud in his eye.

Reflecting on the 2010 championship, the third year running Marmont and his CDR Rockstar Yamaha team have landed on the podium, Marmont had this to say.

“To finish as the first Australian rider and second in the series is something I am proud off. Throughout the championship, there were plenty of US riders that came in and out of the series but I was able to stay consistent and keep racking up points at every round.”

“It’s been a long year with the way our season is structured at the moment so it is tough to back up every week over such a long period of time. I’m going to get away from bikes for a few weeks now and try and recharge for next year. I have never really taken a break from racing in my career so I’m looking forward to four to six weeks off the bike and come back in 2011 stronger than ever.”

“But I also must thank everyone at the CDR Rockstar Yamaha team. They are the best team in the pits and the people that work at CDR have given me a great bike and amazing support again in 2010. My results are a reflection of the work everyone on the team puts in,” Marmont finishes.  

Team owner of CDR Rockstar Yamaha, Craig Dack was also full of praise of Marmont and his team after a difficult championship.

“It’s been a hectic championship with seven rounds in eight weeks including two rounds in New Zealand and one in Tasmania. To have Jay consistently up the front has been a credit to him and his work ethic and also to that of Jason, Todd, Gary and Shawn who work tirelessly to prepare bikes and have everything in place.”

“As a team owner I would love to win every race but considering the level of competition in this championship and the US talent that has competed at these events, Jay’s second place is a very good result. He continues to battle for every point and every position on the track and it has added up to another successful championship for Jay and CDR Rockstar Yamaha,” Dack concluded.

The Brisbane round concluded the 2010 race calendar for Jay Marmont and his CDR Rockstar Yamaha Team. They can add this second place finish to the 2010 MX National crown Jay and the team won in July and look back at 2010 as another successful year for Australia’s longest running professional motocross team.

Round Seven Results – Brisbane
Pro Open





1st Josh Hansen




2nd Billy Mackenzie




3rd Tye Simmonds




4th Jay Marmont




5th Daniel Reardon




6th Daniel McCoy




7th Toby Price




8th Jake Moss




9th Matt Phillips




10th Beau Ralston




Final Championship Standings
1. Josh HANSEN - Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki: 421
2. Jay MARMONT - CDR Rockstar Yamaha: 362
3. Jake MOSS - Team Rockstar Motul Suzuki: 311
4. Tye SIMMONDS - JDR Motorex KTM: 296
5. Daniel REARDON - Cougar Bourbon Honda Thor Racing: 285
6. Daniel McCOY - Coastal KTM Motorex Team: 251
7. Mike ALESSI – JDR Motorex KTM: 159
8. Todd WATERS – Cougar Bourbon Thor Honda: 155
9. Lewis WOODS – Top Gear KTM: 150
10. Billy MACKENZIE - Kawasaki Racing Team Cool Air Conditioning: 146

Jeff Crow / Sport Library
Related Racing Teams: 
'Apply for Finance Online Apply for Finance Online