Izak Maule kicked off the 2012 in perfect fashion

SA-YJR hits the ground running in 2012

15 Mar 2012

The 2012 SAYJR team of Izak and Oscar Maule travelled to round one of the SA motocross Championships this past weekend at Ceduna, over 800km from Adelaide. The conditions were perfect and our two Yamaha chargers were ready to attack.

Izak has been working extremely hard over the off season to get into shape, as he would be tackling two classes being the 125cc 2-stroke class and the 250F class. He wanted to show his hard work was worth it and came out in his first moto and charged to the front from a bad start and was never really challenged. This was exactly the start the team were hoping for. He kept the ball rolling all day, winning all six motos he contested across both bikes and really put all riders on notice that he means business in 2012.

“I am so happy to win both classes today. I have been working hard on my fitness and it really helped. My bike ran awesome and I really want to thanks Steve from SP Motorsports for getting my suspension so good. I am really looking forward to a good year,” said a very happy Izak.

Oscar has also been doing his bit on the training department, but he has really been working on his riding and trying to attack the track and get some more aggression into his riding style. He definitely has succeeded on that as he showed great speed on the weekend, but poor starts and a couple small crashes really cost him the win. The first moto and Oscar really nervous but he warmed to the task not only throughout the moto but also the day and finished with 2-2-1 results to finish second in the 9 to 11 years 85cc.

“I felt good coming into this race as I’ve been practicing hard and feeling good on the bike. I was a bit disappointed to have two crashes in the first couple of motos so I just need to stay focused. My YZ85 ran great and I can’t wait for the next round now,” commented Oscar after racing.

Team Manager Shane Metcalfe once again lined up for the Open class onboard his YZ450F. After placing second in last years’ series, he was hoping to go one better this year but that would be a tall order the Serco Yamaha Kirk Gibbs also competing in the series. Metcalfe once again suffered from a flat tyre which has happened at the opening round for the past three seasons, this really cost him with a DNF in moto one.

 Moto two went little better when a fall dropped him back several spots and he could only manage fourth by the finish, but a second in the final race lifted his spirits.

“I had a blast here at Ceduna. I love the sand, especially when it gets that rough and I haven’t ridden a track that rough since my pro days.”

“ I am very happy with how Izak and Oscar went this weekend, also Nick Day and Courtney Knight did great jobs to. Bring on the next round at Renmark, it should be a beauty,” said Metcalfe about the weekend.

A couple of Y-AIM support riders also did a great job this weekend landing on the podium. Nick Day had his first State level race onboard his YZ125cc, Nick rode awesome all day and brought home 2-2-2 race results to cement him in 2nd behind Izak. This was a huge effort as he is the youngest rider in the pack and he showed that he is ready to take the older lads on.

Courtney Knight had her first real hit out on SA soil and didn’t disappoint, taking all three race wins in the women’s field and showing why she is one of the top women races in the country.

The teams’ next race will be Round two of the SA Titles held at Renmark on the 26th/27th of May.

Overall Results- Rd 1 - Ceduna
Junior Lites 250F

1st Izak Maule – Yamaha – SA
2nd Aaron Hart – Suzuki – SA
3rd Tyler Lange - Suzuki – SA

Junior Lites 125cc
1st Izak Maule – Yamaha – SA
2nd Nick Day - Yamaha – SA
3rd Aaron Hart - Suzuki – SA

9-U12 Years 85cc/150F
1st Thomas Larwood – KTM – SA
2nd Oscar Maule – Yamaha – SA
3rd Travis Lee Edwards -KTM  - SA

Senior Womens
1st Courtney Knight – Yamaha
2nd Zoe Harkness – Yamaha
3rd Steph Cutler – Suzuki

Senior Lites
1st Kirk Gibbs – Yamaha
2nd Damon Hill – Yamaha
3rd James Booth-Elliot – Honda

Senior Opens
1st Kirk Gibbs – Yamaha
2nd Matt Clarke – Kawasaki
3rd Danny Leane – Suzuki

6th Shane Metcalfe – Yamaha

Related Racing Teams: 
'Apply for Finance Online Apply for Finance Online