Thomas Larwood out front at the final round
Alex Larwood dominated the 9-11 years classes in 2015
Taj Gow Smith was the big improver in 2015

SAYJR Rules the Roost in State Champs

8 Sep 2015

The final round of the South Australian Motocross championships was held over the weekend at the all new MRA (Gillman) race circuit in perfect weather conditions for the junior race day. The three boys came into this round hoping to close the series out strongly and take home plenty of silverware by days end.

Thomas Larwood starts were awesome and he holeshot all three races and showed the speed and control like he had at the first two rounds. His hard work from the previous round really paid off and his aggression and race craft kept him a cut above the rest. Despite dominating the final round, he would ultimately come short of winning the championship but can take away the most rounds wins of anyone and should be very proud of his efforts.

"I'm pumped to get the round win today. Even though I didn’t win the championship, I feel like I’m riding the way I should ride and it felt good to be back up the front again after a couple of disappointing rounds. My bike ran and handled well today so it was awesome day all round,” said Thomas.

Coming into this round with full health only meant trouble for the rest of his competition and that’s exactly what happened as Alex Larwood continued to show his domination in his age group clearly winning all six of his moto's for the day.

He didn't have the best of starts today but his skills got him to the front very quickly and he showed the state that he is once again ready to tackle the Junior Nationals yet again. Alex added another two state titles to his resume which is quickly becoming a very impressive list of achievements.

"I loved the new track at Gillman and had a fun day racing. We all rocked the trick new Fox gear which looks so cool and to win two more championship is awesome. Thanks to Shane and all our sponsors," stated young Larwood.

Taj Gow Smith came into the last round looking to close the deal on the YJR 1-2 punch in the 9-11 years 85cc class. He was nervous the morning of the race but once the racing started he settled in nicely and showed that his huge improvement across the year is real and just how far he has come.

He took second overall for the day in both classes and also sealed the deal with second overall in the championship in both classes behind Alex.

"I'm so pumped to make it a 1-2 for the team. We looked sweet in our new gear and it was a good result for Yamaha and the team to finish first and second.

“I'm just so happy right now. Huge shout out to the club for an awesome track," said young Taj.

SAYJR Team Manager Shane Metcalfe was very happy with the boys today.
"All three boys rode great today. Thomas showed he is back on track and rode to three awesome moto wins, which should be great for his confidence leading into the Junior Nationals. Alex just rode awesome again, his style and race skills are years beyond his age. Taj rode great but had a few little mistakes today but he bounced back and still got what he set out for.

“I couldn't be more proud of the boys, they all improved over the course of the series and all sit in good spirits heading to Western Australia in three weeks’ time. I can't wait to see them all in action there,” commented Metcalfe.

The next race the SAYJR will compete at is the Australian Junior Nationals in Bunbury, WA, it starts on the 26th of September and runs until the 4th October.

Class results – Round Five
13-U16yrs 125cc
1st Thomas Larwood – SAYJR

2nd Travis Edwards – Yamaha
3rd Nathan Walmsley – KTM

9-U12yrs 85cc
1st Alex Larwood – SAYJR
2nd Taj Gow Smith – SAYJR

3rd Clay Burnett – KTM

10-U12yrs 65cc
1st Alex Larwood – SAYJR
2nd Taj Gow Smith – SAYJR

3rd Jake Grubb – KTM

Final Championship Results
13-16yrs 125cc

1st Travis Edwards – Yamaha
2nd Thomas Larwood – SAYJR
3rd Aaron Dent – Yamaha

9-U12years 85cc
1st Alex Larwood – SAYJR
2nd Taj Gow Smith – SAYJR

3rd Clay Burnett – KTM

10-U12years 65cc
1st Alex Larwood – SAYJR
2nd Taj Gow Smith – SAYJR

3rd Jake Grubb - KTM

Classic Shots Photography
Related Racing Teams: 
'Apply for Finance Online Apply for Finance Online