Damon Hill takes the number 1 plate in two classes after the 2011 SA MX Champs
Izak Maule took home fourth after a tough final round

SAYJR Wins Two SA MX Champs

22 Sep 2011

The South Australian Yamaha Junior Racing Team wrapped up their highly successful 2011 state championships taking two class wins and two podiums in an outstanding year for the team.

The team scored a couple of titles due to the hard work of Damon Hill, a third thanks to Oscar Maule and a fourth to Izak Maule with team leader Shane Metcalfe chipping in with a second overall in the Pro Open class. The Gilman track was the stage for the final round and with some wild and windy weather on hand the day provided plenty of action and drama.

Damon Hill aboard his (YZ250F and YZ144) has been working hard since the last round of the series and this showed from the first gate drop of the weekend. Damo worked hard all weekend and had a mighty job on hand as he needed to make up over 10 points on championship contender Kurt Waterman in search of the title. The Junior Lites class came down to the final moto of the championship and the winner of that race would be crowned champion. Hill stalked Waterman until the final lap before making his move into the lead and won the race. His round results were 1-2-1-1 to take the round victory and also claim the 2011 championship on count-back from Waterman.

Aboard his YZ144, Hill had a big points’ lead coming into the final round and settled for 2-2-2-4 results to take his second championship for the year.

“I came into this weekend really just focussing on the 250F. I wanted that title so bad as I missed it last year by only a few points so I didn’t want that to happen again. I am stoked to get the win and on both bikes is unreal,” commented an exhausted Damo at the end of the weekends racing.

Izak Maule lined up onboard his YZ144cc this weekend to try and consolidate his position inside the top three in the championship chase. He kicked off the weekend with two solid motos taking 4- 3 to keep his goals within sight. But moto three proved costly as Maule wasn’t able to complete the race and the DNF cost him dearly. His 4-3-DNF –5 results netted him sixth for the round and fourth in the championship.

“I am a bit bummed about that third race but that’s racing and I will be back next year. I am really just going to put my head down and get ready for the Nationals now and I will try and make up for it there,” commented Izak.

Oscar Maule had one of his better rounds at Gilman which really boosted him in the final standings. With Oscar taking 4-5-3-2 moto results for the weekend gave him third for the round and leap frogged Oscar to third overall in the 9 to 11 years 85cc championship.

“I am so happy to get on the podium. I was just starting to get going in that last and wanted to keep going. I nearly even had the fastest lap time, spewing, .3 of a second,” said Oscar after racing.

Team manager Shane Metcalfe again competed onboard his YZ450F. He came into this round in 2nd position and with a big points gap to leader Riley Graham it looked likely that’s where he would finish. He took 2-2-3-3 moto results taking third for the round and second in the title.

“Riley was just to good this year. He rode awesome all year and deserved it. All I could do was try to get holeshots and sprint and hope he wouldn’t catch me but he did. I had a great season, had some epic battles with Riley, and possibly had the best fun I ever have racing a dirt bike,” said Metcalfe.

The next race for the SAYJR will be the Australian Junior Nationals in our backyard at Murray Bridge which starts on the 1st October, bring it on boys, good luck.

Round Results -  Gilman
Junior Lites 250F

1st Damon Hill – Yamaha

2nd Kurt Waterman – Honda
3rd Jye Breed – Kawasaki

Junior Lites 125cc
1st Jett Anderson – KTM
2nd Damon Hill – Yamaha
3rd Aaron Hart – Suzuki

6th Izak Maule – Yamaha

9 –U12 Years 85cc/150F
1st Jock Manser – Kawasaki 
2nd Jed Polomka – KTM
3rd Oscar Maule – Yamaha

Senior Opens
1st Riley Graham – Kawasaki
2nd Thomas Alexander – Honda
3rd Shane Metcalfe – Yamaha

Championship Standings – Final
Junior Lites
1st Damon Hill

2nd Kurt Waterman
3rd Jordan Noles

Junior 125/ 150cc
1st Damon Hill

2nd Jett Anderson
3rd Aaron Hart
4th Izak Maule

9 to 11 years 85cc
1st Jock Manser
2nd Jed Polomka
3rd Oscar Maule

Pro Opens
1st Riley Graham
2nd Shane Metcalfe
3rd Steve Pontin

Related Racing Teams: 
'Apply for Finance Online Apply for Finance Online