Luke Styke takes the win at round eight of the MX Nats with the perfect 1-1

Styke Stars in Swan Hill Success

12 Aug 2013

Luke Styke chalked up another round victory, his seventh of season 2013, at round eight of the MX Nationals held at Swan Hill, Victoria.

On board his Factory Serco Yamaha in the MX2 division, Styke again impressed, taking the win in both motos and also posted the fastest lap in qualifying to make it a dominating day for the YZ250F.

“The track was tough to ride as they ploughed it deep and it was pretty wet underneath. I really struggled early in the day to get any flow going as the track was as difficult to ride as any we have had the season.

“Moto one took me a few laps to get going but I felt better in moto two and was able to ride my own race from start to finish.

“The concrete start also made things interesting as it was so slippery getting off the gate. You couldn’t race off it, you had to ride it as calm as possible and then get into it as soon as you hit the soft dirt.

“But it was another good day and I probably rode better today, especially in the last moto, than I had at the previous rounds which is pleasing,” Styke ends.

Styke and his Serco Yamaha team have won every round of the MX Nationals contested so far, with Styke winning seven and his now injured team mate, Luke Clout taking the other round victory this season.

With four races and 140 points left up for grabs at the remaining two rounds, Styke only needs a strong showing in the opening moto at the next round in Toowoomba to lock up the championship and secure the MX2 win.

The MX Nationals now moves to Queensland for the final two rounds. Toowoomba’s Echo Valley circuit holds round nine in two weeks’ time while the grand finale weekend is at Coolum on the Sunshine Coast with two full days of action the following week.

For more information and a full list of results,

To follow the Serco Yamaha team on Facebook: or on Instagram: @sercoyamaha

Round Eight Results – Swan Hill
1st Luke Styke – 70 (Serco Yamaha)

2nd Brock Winston – 60
3rd Kale Makeham - 58
4th Dylan Long - 57
5th Ryan Marmont - 52
6th  Rhys Carter – 51
7th  Kayne Lamont – 51
8th  Geran Stapleton – 45
9th  Takeshi Katsuya – 44
10th  Beau Ralston - 44

MX2 championship standings (after eight of 10 rounds):
1st Luke Styke – 543 (Serco Yamaha)
2nd Kale Makeham – 440
3rd Brock Winston – 414
4th Ryan Marmont – 349
5th Geran Stapleton – 349
6th Dylan Long – 331
7th Takeshi Katsuya – 324
8th Rhys Carter – 306
9th Josh Cachia - 305
10th Kayne Lamont - 298

Shayne Rice
Related Racing Teams: 
'Apply for Finance Online Apply for Finance Online