Luke Styke scrapping some footpegs in the sand at Wanneroo
Kirk Gibbs floats through the air
Styke holds the red plate after round four

Styke Stretches MX2 Lead after Victorious WA Round

14 May 2012

Serco Yamaha Metal Mulisha Racings’ Luke Styke claimed his second round win and fourth consecutive podium with a dominant performance at round four of the MX Nationals held at Wanneroo, WA, over the weekend.

The Nowra based Styke has been a revelation in season 2012 and continues to impress with his new found speed, skill, determination and work ethic. The Wanneroo round tests all those aspects of a rider and Styke came through with flying colours to take the round win and move 39 points clear in the championship chase.

Posting the second fastest lap time in qualifying, Styke knew he had the speed to run at the front and he immediately got to work in race one and two in the back to back motos and took the win in both motos and set up his day.

Moto three saw Styke take a mature approach allowing the race to unfold and settle into a groove that he could sustain for the full 14 laps and secure the all-important round win. He moved into fourth place with a few laps remaining and that was more than enough to stand atop of the podium on a day that really challenges all riders.

“I really like racing in sand but it is always hard work when we race here at Wanneroo. It’s an awesome track but to ride it well you really have to flow well and be ready physically or this place can punish you.”

“I did exactly what I needed to do and that’s win the races that I can and be up the front in those that I can’t. Consistently good results are what it takes to win a championship and so far things are working well and the Serco team are doing a great job,” Styke said.

Team mate Kirk Gibbs faced some adversity despite racing well in the tough conditions. A flat tyre early in moto one saw Gibbs return to the mechanics area to change the rear wheel but left him out of the points. He bounced back strongly in moto two with a second place finish and salvaged some much needed points.

Race three and 14 laps is a tough ask of any rider, but with Gibbs still dealing with wrist injuries from a pre-season fall, the race was always going to be about survival. He hung through the entire moto and took a well-earned sixth place finish, leaving him in 10th for the round but still remains third overall in the series standings.

“This year I seem to struggle to string three races together to make a good round. The last two races today were good but that DNF in the first race cost a lot of points and set me back in the overall.”

“With Luke being so consistent, no rider can afford to drop motos. But we head to my home state next week and its time I got it together and put in three good races at the level I’m capable of!” he says determinedly.

“It was a good day for us,“ explains Team Manager, Michael Marty. “Luke proved he has matured immensely and knows when to pull the trigger or play it smart on the track. Kirk is just copping some rotten luck and his wrist isn’t good but he never complains and he fights for every point. With the break coming up after the next round, it will give him a chance to heal up and coming home strongly at the final five rounds.”

Murray Bridge in South Australia hosts the MX Nationals this weekend as round five, the halfway point of the championship, gets under way. It is a home state round of Kirk Gibbs where he dominated last year.

To follow the Serco Yamaha Metal Mulisha Racing Team on Facebook;

MX2 Overall Results- Rd 4 Wanneroo
1. Luke Styke - 68 (Serco Yamaha)     
2. Cheyne Boyd- 62 (Honda)     
3. Adam Monea – 55 (Suzuki)
4. Kade Mosig – 54 (Kawasaki)     
5. Josh Cachia - 46 (KTM)    
6. Lewis Woods – 44 (Suzuki)     
7. Ford Dale – 42 (Honda)     
8. Scott Columb – 38 (Suzuki)     
9. Luke Arbon - 38 (Yamaha)    
10. Kirk Gibbs – 37 (Serco Yamaha)

MX2 Championship Standings (after 4 of 10 rounds):
1. Luke Styke 260 – (Serco Yamaha)
2. Ford Dale 221
3. Kirk Gibbs 199 (Serco Yamaha)
4. Cheyne Boyd 198
5. Josh Cachia 195
6. Kade Mosig 194
7. Adam Monea 190
8. Justin McDonald 143
9. Lewis Woods 134
10. Errol Willis 131

Shayne Rice
Related Racing Teams: 
'Apply for Finance Online Apply for Finance Online