Joel Wightman took out the NSW 15 years 250cc motocross championship
Brendon Walther claimed second overall on his YZ85cc

Wightman Wins and Walther Consolidates at NSW Junior MX Champs

10 Jul 2012

The NSW Motocross Championship wrapped up for 2012 at Coonabarabran’s Goanna Tracks complex and the NSW YJR team turned up ready to cap off a strong series.

The weather was clear and the track immaculately prepped, these two factors promoted great racing and YJR’s Joel Wightman stole the show in the 15yrs class, stamping his authority on the age group in NSW. Brendon Walther once again showed plenty of determination to overcome some issues and consolidate his position in the 12-U14yrs 85cc championship.

This was Joel Wightman’s last state title as a junior competitor and he went out with a bang, winning five from six motos over the weekend and taking the overall round win in both the 15yrs 150cc 2st and 250cc 4st classes. The first day of racing started with a second place finish to SS Racing’s Aaron Tanti on his YZ 125, followed by two moto victories to round the day out.

Day two started with a win and Joel never faulted from there. Joel wowed spectators with his speed in the notorious Goanna Tracks whoop section, using it to set up and make passes all day long.

“The weekend was pretty much perfect and an awesome way to finish racing state titles as a junior. I would like to congratulate MNSW, it’s been a great series and I also need to thank Yamaha for the opportunity this year, I have worked hard and it’s paid off. It’s a pretty good feeling.”

Brendon Walther finished up the series with some hard fought races and picked himself up from a nasty crash to fight for every point possible and keep the bigger picture of the championship in mind.

The steep learning curve on his YZ 125 continued, getting caught up in a few first lap incidents forcing him to come from back in the pack.

For the second day of racing Brendon lined up on his YZ 85, holding down second in the championship the goal was to maintain that position and that’s what he did.

“That was a tough weekend, I struggled with starts a little which made it harder than it needed to be but my speed was good. My times were up around the top three I just needed to get a better start which I did in the last race, but then had some issues and a crash.”


Team Manager Shane Booth congratulated his riders saying “It was a great way to finish up the NSW Championships, Joel and Brendon has really impressed me this year and I’m happy for them both. It’s great to see Joel get such a return on his hard work. Brendon has stepped it up too, he moved up an age group and to win a race and finish on the podium in the championship is an awesome effort. I have to thank our sponsors for their support and the riders’ families for all their effort too, it’s been a great series.”

The team now shifts its focus to the Australian Junior Motocross Championships which will be held at Coolum, QLD in October.

NSW Yamaha Junior Racing would like to thank the following supporters:

Yamaha Australia, Fox, Motul, Oakley, Pirelli, Unit, GYT-R, Vortex Handlebars, JT Sprockets, RK Chains, Tee’n’Cee Grafix, Y-AIM and Contour Cameras.

Yamaha was also well represented in senior competition with Stefan Granquist taking fifth for the round and third overall in the Pro Open championship on board his YZ450F. While Emelie Karlsson won the NSW Women’s championship after finishing second overall at the final round. Karlsson rides at Yamaha YZ250F.


Round 3 NSW State Motocross Championships

Coonabarabran, NSW


15yrs 250 4st
1st Joel Wightman (Yamaha)
Aaron Tanti
3rd Ty Gear
4th Jarrod Kelly
5th Toby Stevens


15yrs 150cc 2st
1st Joel Wightman (Yamaha)
Aaron Tanti
3rd Ty Gear
4th Harrison Corbett
5th Billy Wilson


12/U14yrs 85cc
1st Jordan Hill
2nd Jake McGlashin
3rd Lachlan Holroyd
4th Jimmy Griffin
5th Dylan Dukes

8th Brendon Walther (Yamaha)

NSW Motocross Championships Series Overall (unofficial)

15yrs 250 4st
1st Joel Wightman 217
2nd Jarrod Kelly 183
3rd Ty Gear 156

15yrs 150cc 2st
1st Aaron Tanti 206
2nd Joel Wightman 188
3rd Harrison Corbett 157

12/U14yrs 85cc
1st Jordan Hill 205
2nd Brendon Walther 140
3rd Lachlan Holroyd 133

Related Racing Teams: 
'Apply for Finance Online Apply for Finance Online