Izal Maule on the gas in a loamy turn at Murray Bridge
Oscar Maule won the 9 to Under 12 state championship
Shane Metcalfe locks up the Senior Open championship

Yamaha Clean Up at SA MX Champs

7 Aug 2012

Yamaha supported riders pulled down a remarkable five championship victories when the fourth and final round of the South Australian Motocross Championship wrapped up at Murray Bridge over the weekend. YJR teamsters Izak and Oscar Maule added a state championship to their resume while team boss Shane Metcalfe, Courtney Knight and Damon Hill added to their bulging resumes.

Coming into the final round Izak Maule led both the Junior 125cc and the 250F classes in the championship points and was confident but also somewhat nervous as the weekend got under way. But locking away the elusive championships was harder than expected with luck deserting Izak making it an uphill battle.

His day on the 125 turned sour quickly when after leading the opening laps, his bike slowed to a halt and he was unable to finish the moto. The points’ battle tightened considerably but Izak stood tall in the last two motos to take the race victories on both occasions and secure the state championship on his YZ125.

History repeated itself on the 250F where he was also forced out of the opening moto with bike issues. Again he bounced back strongly, taking 3-1 scores in the last two races but he came up seven points short of making it dual state titles.

“I’m shattered by what happened today, although I don’t know what went wrong.  I don’t really know what to say but I really want to thank everyone that supports the team, all our sponsors for giving us the best opportunity to be the best in our sport. I am really thankful and hope I can now take my form to the Junior Nationals at Coolum and do really well there,” said a disappointed Izak.

Oscar came into the final round with a good point’s gap on his rivals but was also extremely nervous before the day started. Those nerves got the better of him as he hit the gate and was dead last down the start straight, but as he has done all season he reeled them in one at a time until he was in the lead and crossing the chequered flag. Moto two was not much better off the gate, again hitting the gate and doing another last to first trick and eventually leading by over 20 seconds. The final race of the day and he really only had to circulate to take the title, but he decided this race was going to be different and came out of the first turn in 3rd, he quickly got into the lead and then simply disappeared into the distance, taking the win by 40 seconds. With a dominant 1-1-1 score card, he wrapped up the title of 9-Under 12 85cc class in style.

‘I was so nervous today, all week in fact. I just really wanted to win this title as I move up into the older age group next year which I am now looking forward to. I am so happy right now”, commented Oscar after racing.

Y-AIM agent/SAYJR Team Manager Shane Metcalfe lined up in the Open class with a nice points lead as the 450 crew entered the final round. Metcalfe exploded out of the gates in the first moto to quickly grab the lead briefly as Serco Yamaha’s Kirk Gibbs past him on the opening lap. He tried to stick with the Gibbs but was forced to finish in second.

Metcalfe put up a much stronger fight in race two and it took Gibbs until the final lap to find a way around the old timer where the guys again finished 1-2. Race three saw Metcalfe on the deck early but came back through the field to finish second and his 2-2-2 scores gave him second for the day but secured the 2012 SA MX Open Championship.

“I have been looking forward to this championship as I was second last year and wanted to win in 2012. I believe this is about my 45th SA title in 26 years of racing and it still means something to me.

“I really want to thank all our sponsors, Yamaha Motors Australia, Y-AIM, Yamalube, GYTR, Fox, Dragon, Dunlop, SP Motorsports, Ringmaster Images, Fullnoise, DID, Renthal, CTI and everyone who supported the series this,” said Metcalfe.

In the Women’s class Courtney Knight once again showed her skills taking another clean sweep of all three motos. She was one of only three riders who managed to clean sweep the entire series and she very rarely ever put a foot wrong. Her smooth riding style along with the awesome YZ250F machine really put on a display across SA for other Women to see, she has really sparked an interest in women around the pits that it’s not just a sport for men which is very cool to see.

“I’m really excited to win today and overall as I had some good competition all year in Steph and Zoe. The track got really challenging today but I felt like I rode it really well,” commented Courtney.

The SAYJR Teams next race will be at The Australian Junior Nationals which start the last weekend in September at Coolum in Queensland.

Round Four Results _ Murray Bridge
Junior Lites 250F

1st Tyler Lange – Suzuki – SA
2nd Joseph Oliver – Kawasaki – SA
3rd Luke Nowell – Yamaha - VIC

5th Izak Maule - Yamaha – SA

Junior Lites 125cc
1st Nick Day – Yamaha – SA
2nd Troy Lee Edwards - KTM – SA
3rd Levi McManus - Yamaha – VIC

5th Izak Maule – Yamaha – SA

9-U12 Years 85cc/150F
1st Oscar Maule – Yamaha – SA

2nd Thomas Larwood – KTM – SA
3rd Josh Hart -Honda  - SA

Senior Women
1st Courtney Knight – Yamaha

2nd Zoe Harkness – Yamaha
3rd Steph Cutler – Suzuki

Senior Lites
1st Kirk Gibbs – Yamaha

2nd James Booth Elliot – Honda
3rd Elijah Wiese – Honda

Senior Open
1st Kirk Gibbs – Yamaha
2nd Shane Metcalfe – Yamaha

3rd James Booth Elliot – Kawasaki

Championship Standings
Junior Lites 250F

1st Tyler Lange – Suzuki
2nd Izak Maule – Yamaha
3rd Joseph Oliver – Kawasaki

Junior Lites 125cc
1st Izak Maule – Yamaha

2nd Nick Day – Yamaha
3rd Luke Nowell – Yamaha

Junior 85 9-U12
1st Oscar Maule – Yamaha

2nd Thomas Larwood – KTM
3rd Josh Hart – Honda

Senior Women
1st Courtney Knight – Yamaha

2nd Zoe Harkness – Yamaha
3rd Steph Cutler – Suzuki

Expert Lites
1st Damon Hill – Yamaha
2nd Jett Anderson – KTM
3rd Elijah Wiese – Honda

Expert Opens
1st Shane Metcalfe – Yamaha

2nd Damon Hill – Yamaha
3rd Trent Shaw - Yamaha

Matt Pedder
Related Racing Teams: 
'Apply for Finance Online Apply for Finance Online