National MX champion Jay Marmont

Yamaha Racing Announces 2010 Motocross Teams

10 Feb 2010

Yamaha Australia is proud to lift the veil on the factory supported motocross and supercross race teams for the 2010 season. After a blockbuster year in 2009, taking two national championships and a host of podium positions, the blue squad is back in full force for 2010 and look to continue its domination of Australian motocross and supercross.


The dynamic duo of Jay Marmont and Cheyne Boyd return to continue their 1-2 punch in the premier Pro Open class. Mounted on the revolutionary Yamaha YZ450F, both riders will be gunning for championship glory in the eight round MX Nationals and the internationally recognised SuperX championship.

Marmont, the reigning national motocross champion is back for his third year with the team and is looking to make it a hat trick of national motocross championships since joining the team, while Boyd is set to continue the momentum gained in 2009 and ready for a break out season.

“There is no doubt that CDR Rockstar Yamaha is the best team in the country and I'm excited to continue our relationship for another year, offers Marmont. “The team are total professionals and no stone is left unturned to get the best results possible. They work hard and are prepared to do whatever it takes and that’s the team I want to be in,” he finishes.

Team Manager: Craig Dack
Technicians: Gary Benn and Shaun Hodgetts
Riders: Jay Marmont and Cheyne Boyd


A trim, tight and terrific Serco Yamaha Team hits the track in 2010, primed and ready for success. A two rider line up that includes Kirk Gibbs returning for his second year on the team, while Ford Dale (right) rejoins the squad where he achieved his best results.

Serco Yamaha is Yamaha's official Pro Lite race team and competes on the totally revamped YZ250F. The new bike and rider line up has team owner Gavin Eales excited about his 2010 prospects in both motocross and supercross championships.

“The team really picked up some momentum in the later half of 2009 and we are going to build on that for 2010. We have the riders, bikes and mechanics to get the job done in the Pro Lite division and I don't expect anything less than championship success from the caliber of rider we have on board for 2010,” Eales states confidently.

Team Manager: Gavin Eales
Technicians: Michael Marty and Adam Jack
Riders: Kirk Gibbs and Ford Dale


The team that continues to pump out future champions is back and ready emulate their 2009 success. Luke Styke (left), winner of the U19 MX Nationals will headline the team in the Pro Lite class, while Harley Quinlan, Ross Beaton and young gun Shaun Redhead will make a three pronged attack in the U19 class . All four riders will contest the SuperX Championship and look set to be a real force in the high profile series.

“Its really easy to go to the races with a bunch of hard working and dedicated riders,” says head technician, Darren Thompson. All these guys put in 100% on the track and that reflects in their results. We have a tough ask to improve on our 2009 season, but everyone is working hard to ensure we step it up.”

Team Manager: Scott Bishop
Technicians: Darren Thompson and Cory Hillsley
Riders: Luke Styke, Ross Beaton, Harley Quinlan and Shaun Redhead.

For further information: please contact Yamaha's Media Relations
Sean Goldhawk: or
Scott Bishop:

Related Racing Teams: 
'Apply for Finance Online Apply for Finance Online