Kevin Curtain on his way to victory at QR ASBK
Pad Medcalf took the round victory in the 1000cc Pro Stock division
Curtain and Olson, 1-3 respectively for the round.

Yamaha Racing Wins at Willowbank ASBK

5 Jun 2011

Yamaha Racings' tarmac trio of Kevin Curtain, Pat Medcalf and Rick Olson featured prominently at round five of the Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) at Queensland Raceway.

Curtain nailed the round victory in the 600cc Supersport class with Olson in third, while Pat Medcalf claimed victory in the 1000cc Pro Stock class.

On a mild winters’ day and dry track conditions, Queensland Raceway again provided great racing with Yamaha’s factory supported team winning in its home state round.

Curtain claimed the round victory by winning both 17 lap legs but it wasn’t without its share of drama and hard work. Curtain took control early in race one and sped off to a two second victory. But race two proved to be a battle to the end as Curtain, team mate Olson and Brendan Clarke sprinted from the pack and engaged in a race long fight.

Curtain held sway until the later stages of the race where both Clarke and Olson were able to sneak by. But remarkably, Curtain was able to get around both riders by the second last lap and then set his fastest lap of the race on the 17th and final lap for a final winning margin over Clarke of .145 of  a second and another 1.5 seconds back to Olson.

Curtain’s experience on the track and never ending fighting spirit again rose to the surface and he was rewarded with the round win. The 1-1 performance now sees Curtain in the lead of the 600cc Supersport class on 155 points, 21 clear of his nearest rival with one round remaining at Phillip Island.

“The track here at QR is always tough as there isn’t much to separate the riders. As a rider, you know when you get here you have to be on your game for every lap, of every race, and there is no such thing as an easy win here,” Curtain explains.

“But it’s nice to come away with the win as the team is based here in Queensland and we are now back on top in the points, exactly where we need to be,” he finished.

Rick Olson has proven to be a worthy understudy for Curtain and on more than one occasion as shown his older and more experienced teammate how it’s done. Olson was again right at the front of the pack over the weekend, carding 3-3 race results to take third overall for the round.

As mentioned, Olson was right in the heat of the battle in race two and even hit the lead with just over a lap remaining but a missed line in turn six which dropped him back a couple of seconds.

The third place now sees Olson sit in fifth place and still within striking distance of a podium if he has a big final round.

Pat Medcalf also got into the winning spirit taking a well earned victory in the 1000cc Pro Stock class. In his first outing at the ASBK rounds, Medcalf hit the bitumen all guns blazing taking 2-2-1 race results to claim the round win in an impressive ASBK debut.

“To win two classes and have every rider on the podium at the end of a round always means the team has had a great day,” says team manager, John Redding.

“When we decided to re-enter the ASBK this year, it wasn’t to make up the numbers, we wanted to win races, win rounds and more importantly, win championships and we are now in the position to make that happen.”

“But it’s not over yet and the riders and team will work diligently until the final round and give ourselves every opportunity to lock down a national championship at Phillip Island.”  

“The form of Kevin, Rick and Pat is also good so we look forward to the Phillip Island round and a big finish to the championships,” Redding comments.

Round Five Results – Queensland Raceway
600cc Supersport





1st Kevin Curtain




2nd Brendan Clarke




3rd Rick Olson




4th Aaron Gobert




5th Brodie Waters




1000cc Pro Stock





1st Pat Medcalf




2nd John Ross




3rd Cru Halliday




4th Linden Magee




5th Ben Nicolson




Championship Standings- One Round Remaining
600cc Supersport

1st Kevin Curtain – 155
2nd Brodie Waters – 134
3rd Christian Casella – 132
4th Aaron Gobert -131
5th Rick Olson – 125

1000cc Pro Stock
1st Cru Halliday – 207
2nd Linden Magee – 143
3rd Scott Yates – 132
4th John Ross – 130
5th Ben Nicolson – 122

Keith Muir
Related Racing Teams: 
'Apply for Finance Online Apply for Finance Online