Yamaha Racing Strong Showing at ASBK

Yamaha Racing again flexed its muscle and popularity among the riders with an impressive haul of results from a big weekend of racing as the final rounds of the Mi-Bike Motorcycle Insurance Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) wrapped up over the weekend.
With a long list of Yamaha riders in each of the support classes, the bLU cRU were able to come away with victory in the 600cc Supersport, a couple of podium positions in the 300cc Supersport as well as success in the R3 cup and the OJC R15 Cup.

To view the bLU cRU round recall: https://youtu.be/bJnq6s5L59s

Tom Toparis managed to retain his Australian Supersport Championship in a year that he would describe as eventful. Toparis contested the opening round at Phillip Island before embarking on a season in Europe to race, only to have Covid throw a spanner in the works. Toparis decided to return home and while in hotel quarantine, the decision to race the final rounds of the championship was confirmed, so he scrambled to get things in place for the grand finale at Wakefield Park.

He dominated proceedings on Saturday winning both races as well as securing the extra point for the fastest lap in qualifying. That gave him a decent points buffer heading into the final round on Sunday which came in handy as again had had issues to overcome.

But the talented teenager worked through them with class and needing nothing more than a top 10 finish in the final race of the year, Toparis charged to the front and then used his street smarts as the laps went on to steer his Yamaha YZF-R6 to a fifth place finish but secure his second consecutive Supersport championship.

The battle behind him for the remaining podium spots was also an all Yamaha affair with Oli Bayliss, Max Stauffer and Broc Pearson fighting over the scraps. Pearson proved the real mover over the weekend with two second place round finishes but that wasn’t enough to bridge the gap to Bayliss or Stauffer who finished second and third respectively in the championship.

The weekend also proved successful for Yamaha riders in the 300cc Supersport class. Yamaha mounted Carter Thompson and John Lytras both won a round over the weekend, but it wasn’t enough to claw back the Kawasaki of Harry Khouri.

Khouri took the championship victory comfortably over Lytras in second and fellow Yamaha rider Ben Baker in third.

In the R3 Cup, it was Carter Thompson winning the championship by the narrowest of margins as he took a one point victory in the championship from John Lytras. It was a drama filled final day in the R3 Cup as Carter didn’t finish the first race of the day and the comfortable gap he had built was suddenly eroded and it was all on the line in the final race.

Carter just held off Lytras in a nail biter to snare the championship victory.

The OJC R15 Cup has been the perfect introduction for young and aspiring road racers and the little thrill seekers ran rampant around the Wakefield Park circuit. In the end, it was Marianos Nikolis crowned the 2020 champion ahead of Tom Drane and Cameron Dunker.

“Yamaha Australia’s passion for racing is obvious when attending events like this,” confirms John Redding. “Each field has a huge Yamaha representation and we will continue to work with riders, MA and the ASBK team to develop Australian racing in everything from OJC R15 to ASBK Superbikes.

“Congratulations to all the riders, teams and families that have invested so much in racing. Their dedication never ceases to amaze me. A special mention to Tom, Carter and Marianos for their championship success and well done on behalf of Yamaha Motor Australia.”

ASBK Results

  • 2020 ASBK Championship Standings

    600cc Supersport
    1st Tom Toparis – 150 (Yamaha)
    2nd Oli Bayliss – 139 (Yamaha)
    3rd Max Stauffer – 128 (Yamaha)
    4th Broc Pearson – 120 (Yamaha)
    5th Tom Edwards – 118 (Yamaha)

    300cc Supersport
    1st Harry Khouri – 171
    2nd John Lytras – 134 (Yamaha)
    3rd Ben Baker – 132 (Yamaha)

    Yamaha R3 Cup
    1st Carter Thompson – 100
    2nd John Lytras – 99
    3rd Archie McDonald – 93

    OJC R15 Cup
    1st Marianos Nikolis – 162
    2nd Tom Drane – 149
    3rd Cameron Dunker – 145.