Yamaha Clean Sweeps Wakefield ASBK

Round three of the Mi-Bike Insurance Australian Superbike Championship proved to be a huge round for Yamaha riders and teams with the blue brand taking all before them in a clean sweep of classes over the weekend.
Media Information: 26 April 2022

In addition to YRT’s Mike Jones winning the Superbike class with teammate Cru Halliday in third, Yamaha mounted John Lytras took the round win in the 60cc Supersport category, Cameron Dunker did the double taking victory in the 300cc Supersport and the Yamaha R3 Cup, while Hudson Thompson won the OJC Cup.

To view a video recap of the event: https://youtu.be/YL5O_48LyBE

Supersport 600cc
The racing was intense at the front of the field in the 600cc Supersport category with John Lytras, Sean Condon and Ty Lynch going to battle for the entire length of the two, fifteen lap races. With usual front runner, Tom Edwards, contesting a race overseas, former Superbike rider, Sean Condon jumped into the hot seat for the first time in seven years and wanted to show the young punks the fast way around.

But he came up against stiff competition in the form of Queenslander, John Lytras and Ty Lynch who did more than take it up to Condon. Lytras jumped to the front of the field in both races and had to withstand 30 minutes of pressure from his two rivals. To his credit, Lytras maintained his composure and was able to hold on to win both races and secure the round win. In turn he now leads the championship with a 17-point margin over his nearest rival.

Second and third came down to a tie break between Condon and Lynch as both finished with 2-3 results. Condon gained an extra point for having the fastest qualifying time and therefore claims second on the day, with Lynch in third.

Supersport 300cc
Cameron Dunker was the man to beat in the 300cc Supersport division and no one was able to do it at Wakefield Park. Dunker had the perfect weekend on his Yamaha R3, taking all three race wins as well as the fastest qualifier to stretch his lead in the championship to 25 points.

Behind him, Taiyo Asku and Glenn Nelson battled over the final two spots on the podium with Asku getting the upper hand with his 4-2-2 results beating Nelson with 2-4-4 finishes.

Yamaha R3 Cup
Dunker was again the man here but wasn’t with the same dominance as the 300cc Supersport class. Dunker was made to work hard for his results and finished with 1-2-2 finishes to take a narrow round win over Glenn Nelson who finished with 2-1-3 race scores. In third was Liam Waters.

On the championship table, the roles are reversed with Nelson having a 10 point lead over Dunker as the series heads towards the halfway mark for 2022.

OJC- R15 Cup
Again, it was on for young and even younger in the Oceania Junior Cup challenge with riders aged between 11 and 14 going hell for leather every time they hit the track. In some of the most unpredictable racing over the weekend, it was Hudson Thompson who emerged the winner with 2-3-1 results, beating Harrison Watts on a count back while Levi Russo slotted into third.

Watts leads the championship over Thompson with Cameron Rende in third but anything can and does happen in this class.

ASBK Results

  • ASBK Results

    Round 3- Wakefield Park
    600cc Supersport
    1st John Lytras – 50 (Yamaha R6)
    2nd Sean Condon – 39 (Yamaha R6)
    3rd Ty Lynch – 38 (Yamaha R6)

    300cc Supersport
    1st Cameron Dunker – 76 (Yamaha R3)
    2nd Taiyo Asku – 57 (Yamaha R3)
    3RD Glenn Nelson – 54 (Yamaha R3)

    Yamaha R3 Cup
    1st Cameron Dunker – 65
    2nd Glenn Nelson – 63
    3rd Liam Waters – 55

    OJC- R15 Cup
    1st Hudson Thompson – 63
    2nd Harrison Watts – 63
    3rd Levi Russo – 57

    Championship Standings
    600cc Supersport
    1st John Lytras – 117
    2nd Ty Lynch – 100
    3rd Scott Nicholson – 82

    300cc Supersport
    1st Cameron Dunker – 184
    2nd James Jacobs – 159
    3rd Glenn Nicholson – 158

    Yamaha R3 Cup
    1st Glenn Nelson – 188
    2nd Cameron Dunker – 178
    3rd Hayden Nelson – 141

    OJC – R15 Cup
    1st Harrison Watts – 176
    2nd Hudson Thompson – 163
    3rd Cameron Rende - 152