CDR Yamaha 2-3 Finish at Wagga

The CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team claimed two spots in an all-Yamaha SX1 podium at the fourth and final round of the Australian Supercross Championship, held at Wagga Wagga on Saturday evening.

Yamaha riders dominated proceedings in the SX1 division with Matt Moss taking the round victory, just ahead of Aaron Tanti in second and Josh Hill in third.

To view the CDR Yamaha bLU cRU review:

Aaron Tanti bounced back from his mishap last week to perform strongly and take second place on the night and secure third in the championship. After a heavy fall last week in Newcastle, Tanti was required to pass a range of tests to ensure he was safe and capable to ride on Saturday Night.

He was cleared on Saturday morning by the medical crew and then reassessed after the practice and qualifying sessions to ensure he was good to go. He started off the day with his timing a little off on the technical Wagga circuit, but he improved considerably every time he hit the track.

By the time the first of two, ten laps races hit the track, Tanti was finding his feet, dialling in his timing and his lap times were dropping quick. He gated inside the top four and kept the front trio of Moss, Brayton and Hill in sight as the race progressed. Brayton then slowed with a flat tyre as Tanti closed in on the front duo on the final lap. He wasn’t able to make a pass, but a third place was a great way to start the night after the challenging week he just experienced.

But for the final moto of the night and the season, Tanti was back in full swing and ready to let his YZ450F sing. He leapt to the front of the pack and simply set a pace his rivals couldn’t match. He slowly but surely stretched out his lead on each and every lap and when the checkered flag flew, Tanti claimed the race win by eight seconds of Matt Moss.

“As I said during the week, I felt ok and was confident I would be able to ride despite what the rumours were,” Tanti explains. “I was a little rusty in practice but I feel that was just me trying to get the track down as it was more difficult than the other rounds we have raced. Once I got that sorted, I was then able to push the speed up and racing just felt like normal.

“It was important to finish the night and the season well. 2022 has been a great year for me and I want to keep that rolling into 2023 so it was important I didn’t let that small hiccup last week slow my momentum.

“Thanks to the CDR Yamaha team for a sensational year as well as all my family and friends that support me. Its time to take a few weeks off before getting started on preparations for 2023,” he said.

Josh Hill was looking racy all night and ended up adding another podium finish to his Australian campaign in 2022. Hill missed the opening round as he part of the CDR Yamaha International team for WSX, but when Luke Clout went down, Hill was commissioned to do the final three rounds in Australia and again he as done an admirable job.

Hill charged to a 2-3 finish on the night to secure third on the night and climb to sixth in the championship despite missing the opening round. From his three appearances, Hill finished with 3-4-3 results and proved to be the ultimate substitute for Clout.

“My relationship with Craig and the entire CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team is tight and I would drop everything to come ride for these guys anytime. They are truly a world class team and I always love my time in Australia and with the team.

“Third was good again tonight and it was a nice way to finish the season on the podium.

“Thank you to the Australian fans and promoters who have looked after me so well and to the CDR Yamaha team for again taking me under the wing. I hope that I get the opportunity again,” Hill ends.

ASX Results

  • ASX Results

    SX1 – Wagga Wagga
    1st Matt Moss (Yamaha)
    2nd Aaron Tanti (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team)
    3rd Josh Hill (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team)

    4th Justin Brayton
    5th Dylan Wills
    6th Kyle Webster
    7th Dylan Wood
    8th Cory Watts
    9th Zac Watson
    10th Robbie Marshall

    SX1 Championship Standings
    1st Justin Brayton – 85
    2nd Matt Moss -84 (Yamaha)
    3rd Aaron Tanti – 77 (Yamaha)
    4th Dylan Wills - 68
    5th Kyle Webster - 61
    6th Josh Hill – 58 (Yamaha)
    7th Dylan Wood - 53
    8th Cory Watts - 37
    9th Eiljah Weise - 34
    10th Brandon Steel - 32