Yamaha Riders Light it up at QR

In ideal conditions and a perfect Sunday Autumn afternoon in Queensland, Yamaha supported riders enjoyed another successful outing at round three of the Australian Superbike Championship.
The revamped Queensland Raceway hosted round three of the ASBK as the crowd lined the fences around the entire track to witness some sensational racing across all divisions.

To view the YRD bLU cRU ASBK round review:  https://youtu.be/pVf1QCgNFm4

1000cc Superbikes
While the YRT hit the podium, it was Max Stauffer who quietly went about achieved some personal bests on the weekend and continue to impress with his improvement in 2023. Now in his second full year of racing in the Superbike class, Stauffer is finding his feet in the premier division and his sixth-place finish at round three is testament to his work and progress as a rider.

Stauffer battled the higher profile and more established names in the Superbike class and even finished ahead of fellow Yamaha riders in Anthony West (8th) and Bryan Staring (9th) in a confidence boosting performance from the young gun.

600cc Supersport
The Cameron Dunker train continues to build momentum as last year’s 300cc champion shows he knows his way around a Yamaha R6. His move up has gone seamlessly, and he has followed his success at round two with a hard-fought win a round three. Dunker claimed the Queensland Raceway round win on the back of 1-2 results and tied with Olly Simpson who finished with 2-1 scores, but Dunker claims the extra point thanks to claiming pole position.

Third and fourth was also a tight knit affair with Scott Nicholson getting the final place on the podium ahead of Ty Lynch. Again, both riders tied on points but Nicholson’s better finish in race two gave him the upper hand.

In the championship points standing, Simpson holds a three-point lead over Lynch while Dunker is ten points from the lead in third.

300cc Supersport and R3 Cup
Marcus Hamod claimed victory in the 300cc Supersport race with three impressive rides. Hamod finished with 1-3-1 results to take the round win ahead of Brodie Gawith in second and Brendon Demmery in third.

But Demmery leads the championship thanks to his consistency at every round so far, with a handy advantage over Gawith and Hamod.

In the R3 Cup class, it was Cameron Swain that came out on top with points very close amount the top three riders. Swain won with two points to spare over Marcus Hamod in second and a further three points back to Brendon Demmery in third.

Demmery also leads the Yamaha Finance R3 Cup division with a small two point gap of Swain, while Brodie Gawith is in third.

Oceania Junior Cup
Bodie Paige was the benchmark in the OJC division dominating the weekend with three race wins from three starts. He won the day ahead of Archie Schmidt and Rikki Henry.

The 75 points haul from Paige also boosted him to championship leader after three rounds.

The next round for the support classes at the ASBK is round five at Morgan Park in August.

ASBK Results

  • ASBK Results

    Round Three – QR

    1st Troy Herfoss – 51
    2nd Mike Jones – 40 (Yamaha Racing Team)
    3rd Cru Halliday – 36 (Yamaha Racing Team)
    4th Josh Waters – 34
    5th Glenn Allerton – 32
    6th Max Stauffer -30 (Yamaha)
    7th Ted Collins-27
    8th Anthony West- 24 (Yamaha)
    9th Bryan Staring -22 (Yamaha)

    10th Matt Walters-22

    600c Supersport
    1st Cameron Dunker – 46
    2nd Olly Simpson – 45
    3rd Scott Nicholson – 34

    300cc Supersport
    1st Marcus Hamod – 68
    2nd Brodie Gawith – 60
    3rd Brendon Demmery – 59

    R3 Cup
    1st Cameron Swain – 59
    2nd Marcus Hamod – 57
    3rd Brendon Demmery – 54

    1st Bodie Paige – 75
    2nd Archie Schmidt – 58
    3rd Rikki Henry - 53

    ASBK Championship Standings
    1st Josh Waters -160
    2nd Troy Herfoss – 142
    3rd Cru Halliday – 115 (Yamaha)
    4th Glenn Allerton – 115
    5th Mike Jones - 104 (Yamaha)
    6th Ted Collins – 95
    7th Bryan Staring – 88 (Yamaha)
    8th Broc Pearson - 82
    9th Arthur Sissis – 72 (Yamaha)
    10th Max Stauffer – 69 (Yamaha)

    600cc Supersport

    1st Olly Simpson – 119
    2nd Ty Lynch – 116
    3rd Cameron Dunker – 106

    300cc Supersport
    1st Brendon Demmery – 187
    2nd Brodie Gawith – 162
    3rd Marcus Hamod – 154

    R3 Cup
    1st Brendon Demmery – 124
    2nd Cameron Swain – 122
    3rd Brodie Gawith – 106

    1st Bodie Paige – 118
    2nd Valentino Knezovic – 108
    3rd Haydn Fordyce - 105